Merle Travis & Joe Maphis: Country Guitar Giants

Merle Travis & Joe Maphis: Country Guitar Giants

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.


Release Date: 1/24/2003

In this landmark 1979 album, Joe Maphis, known as the “The fastest guitar alive” and Merle Travis, legendary originator of “Travis Pickin,’” combine their considerable talents to prove why Country Guitar Giants is no overstatement. Between these “Kings of the Strings,” they have influenced almost every field of American popular music with their innovative flat-picking and awe-inspiring skill. “Joe and Ole’ Merle” attack the old Appalachian ballads, Tin Pan Alley numbers and country and pop songs that inspired them when they were young. Listening to “Wildwood Flower” and “Columbus Stockade Blues” you can hear the joy Travis and Maphis take in playing these great tunes together. Country Guitar Giants is a stunning collaboration between two larger than life guitar masters.



  1. Free Little Bird 
  2. Mose Rager Blues 
  3. Alabama Jubilee 
  4. Hear Dem Bells 
  5. Eight More Miles To Louisville 
  6. Little Rosewood Casket 
  7. John Henry 
  8. Cannonball Rag 
  9. Beer Barrel Polka 
  10. My Adobe Hacienda 
  11. Lover
  12. Snow Deer
  13. Ike Everly’s Rag 
  14. Sweet Bunch Of Daisies 
  15. Somebody Stole My Gal 
  16. San Antonio Rose 
  17. Li’l Liza Jane 
  18. Bury Me Beneath The Willow 
  19. High Noon 
  20. Down Among The Budded Roses 
  21. Freight Train 
  22. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight 
  23. Wildwood Flower 
  24. Back In The Saddle Again 
  25. Memphis Blues 
  26. Black Mountain Rag 
  27. Say ‘Si Si’ 
  28. Columbus Stockade Blues 
  29. Right Or Wrong / Smiles 
  30. I Saw The Light