Jimmy Martin: Songs of a Free Born Man

Jimmy Martin: Songs of a Free Born Man

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.


Release Date: 4/8/2003

Known as the “King of Bluegrass,” “Mr. Good ‘n’ Country” and “America’s Ambassador of Bluegrass Music,” Jimmy Martin is arguably the best singer in bluegrass. Even at the age of 75, his hard-driving, emotion-packed performances keep audiences on the edge of their chairs. Covering almost 50 years in the career of the man who continues to define the term “high lonesome,” Songs of a Free Born Man features guest stars Little Jimmy Dickens, Marty Stuart, Ricky Skaggs, J.D. Crowe, Paul Williams, Josh Graves and Grant Turner. This collection includes rare live tracks, an informal all-star jam session from 1959, and duets of Martin’s biggest songs with notable guests, showcasing the astonishing artistry of one of America’s greatest living musical treasures.



  1. Intro / Made in the Shade (If a Tree Don't Fall)
  2. If Teardrops Were Pennies w/ Leona Williams
  3. Grant Turner Introduction
  4. 20/20 Vision
  5. Lost to a Stranger - Ray Martin (vocals)
  6. Pete, The Best Coon Dog in the State of Tennessee
  7. Ocean of Diamonds
  8. Sophronie
  9. Mansion on the Hill w/ Jett Williams
  10. Rose of Old Kentucky
  11. Sunny Side of the Mountain
  12. Big Jam Intro
  13. Molly and Tenbrooks
  14. Jimmy's Mule
  15. Put My Little Shoes Away
  16. Ruby - Paul Williams
  17. Widow Maker
  18. Don't Let Me Cross Over
  19. If We Never Meet Again
  20. Darlin' Cory w/ Ricky Skaggs
  21. It Takes One to Know One
  22. Little Maggie
  23. Honey, You Don't Know My Mind
  24. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  25. Free Born Man / Outro

Preview Tracks: